

# **STANDARDS COMMITTEE**

## MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL OFFICES, TREDOMEN ON MONDAY 24TH JULY 2006 AT 5.00 PM

## PRESENT:

M.G. Warrender - Chairman K.C. Mock - Vice-Chairman

Councillors:

A.J. Pritchard and L.R. Rees

Community Councillor C. Roberts

Messrs. L.G. Davies, D.R.G. Parry and Mrs. E.J. Rowlands

Together with:

I.G. Medlicott (Monitoring Officer), J.A. Fairfax (Members Services Manager)

#### 1. WHISTLEBLOWING

A presentation was given by Mr. John Herniman of the Wales Audit Office which included details of a survey undertaken highlighting the level of understanding of the legislation and policies relating to Whistleblowing. A detailed discussion ensued and it was noted that the Audit Office would be staging a series of workshop sessions for staff, including manual and non office based employees and it was agreed that members of the Committee should also be represented. In general it was agreed that the Council's policy on Whistleblowing should be reviewed in due course to make it more user friendly and observations made at the workshop sessions could be used as the basis of the review.

Mr. Herniman was thanked for his presentation and the advice which he had offered and he then left the meeting.

#### 2. MINUTES

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting held on 14th June 2006 (minute nos. 1 - 2, page nos. 1 - 2) were approved and signed as a correct record.

#### 3. COMPLAINTS TO THE OMBUDSMAN

RESOLVED that the report of the Monitoring Officer setting out details of complaints rejected by the Ombudsman as not accepted for formal investigation or where he was

satisfied with the action taken and of those remaining at the enquiry stage or were awaiting determination was noted.

#### 4. PROVIDING INDEMNITIES TO MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

Consideration was given to the report of the Monitoring Officer

RESOLVED that the draft report to be presented to Cabinet on 1st August 2006 be accepted and that an indemnity be granted in the form contained in the Appendix.

### 5. NEXT MEETING

It was agreed that the next meeting should be held at Dyffryn House.

The meeting closed at 6.30 pm.

CHAIRMAN